Whole 30 – Day 1- Meal 2

For meal 2 I had an Emerald kale salad with grilled chicken breast. Kale is a pretty new ingredient for me. It’s definitely tough and has a stronger flavor than lettuce. I’ve attached a picture below of the salad. I got this recipe from the Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook by Mickey Trescott.

Recipe: makes 4 servings (I cut the recipe in half and ate the whole thing)

Ingredients – 1 bunch curly leafed kale, stemmed and finely chopped. 2 tablespoons of olive oil. 1 teaspoon sea salt, 1/2 lemon, juiced (1 tablespoon). 1/4 minced red onion, 1/4 finely chopped cucumber.

1. Place the chopped kale in a large bowl; drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.

2. Massage the kale gently with your hand for 5 – 10 minutes, until the tough fibers of the kale break down and soften somewhat.

3. Toss with lemon juice, onion, and Kale.

Note: Keeps well in the refrigerator for several days.

I added grilled chicken to my salad which I grilled the day before and seasoned with salt, pepper, and dried oregano.

Emerald Kale Chicken Salad

Emerald Kale Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

