Whole 30 – Day 1 – Meal 3

Dinner tonight was fabulous! Hands down the best meal I’ve made yet that is Whole30 compliant. This recipe is a must try and it wasn’t too difficult either. I had 3-herb meatballs over zucchini noodles topped with nomato sauce. Although I would make the nomato sauce ahead of time, it was really easy to just heat it up before hand and put on my 3-herb meat balls and zucchini noodles. The nomato sauce is to replace the tomato sauce so you can make it ahead of time and store in the fidge for several days. I will be trying this over my spaghetti squash later this week.

I made 3-herb beef patties – well I made a batch and made some of them into patties and some of them into meatballs. Same thing just different shape right? I swear these smell so good when making them and this could replace any sausage for breakfast meal – they’re that good. I found this recipe in my new cook book, The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook by Mickey Tescott. I used 3 meatballs in my dinner recipe and put the patties in the freezer after cooking them. I figured these would be easy to thaw and eat with breakfast or I will definitely be making this recipe again, in the near future.

3-herb beef patties ( I cut the recipe in half since it yields 6 servings, the recipe listed is the original recipe)

ingredients: 2 lbs of grass-fed ground beef, 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh rosemary, 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh tyme, 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh sage, 1 teaspoon sea salt, 1 tablespoon coconut oil.

1. In a large bowl, combine the ground beef, fresh herbs, and salt.

2. Using your hands, form into patties or meat balls.

3. Heat the coconut oil in a cast-iron skillet on medium heat. Cook the patties (or meatballs) for about 5 – 8 minutes per side, until nicely browned on the outside. (You can also bake them at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes).

Zucchini pasta

I cut my zucchini into spirals using my newest favorite kitchen tool from a papered chef party I recently attended. I would recommend buying if anyone is headed to a papered chef party anytime soon. I then sautéed the zucchini in some coconut oil over medium heat. You can always slice the zucchini and it would taste the same.

Nomato Sauce (I was surprised how good this was!)

Ingredients: 1 tablespoon coconut oil, 1 large yellow onion, chopped, 4 cloves garlic, minced, 2 medium beets, chopped, 2 medium carrots, chopped, 1 tablespoon fresh tyme, 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, 1 cup water, 1 teaspoon sea salt, 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil.

1. Heat the coconut oil in a pot over medium heat. When the pot is hot and oil is melted, add the onions and cook for about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for another few minutes, stirring. Add the beets, carrots, tyme, and rosemary and cook for another couple of minutes.

2. Add the water and salt, and bring to a boil. Lower the heat, then cover and simmer on low for 30 minutes, or until the vegetables are soft. Remove from heat and let cool for 15 minutes.

3. Carefully transfer the mixture to a blender and puree.

4. Add back to the pot and stir in the fresh basil, turning on the heat to cook for 5 more minutes.

I will add pictures shortly

 

 

 20140630-202444-73484907.jpg

20140630-202444-73484051.jpg

20140630-202443-73483157.jpg

Leave a Reply

